National Association for the Advancement of Colored People


Buffalo, New York Branch 

Chartered 1915


395 E. Ferry Street

Buffalo, New York  14208-1504

Phone (716) 884-7242

Fax (716)884-7243



Welcome to the Buffalo Branch NAACP (National Association for the Advancement of Colored People). The Buffalo Branch NAACP, is located at 395 E. Ferry Street (2nd floor), Buffalo, New York 14208-1504. Phone 716-884-7242, Fax 716-884-7243, e-mail . Branch meetings are held at 5:30 PM on the 2nd Monday of each month at the Meriweather Library at E. Utica and Jefferson Streets. If a holiday falls on that Monday, the meeting is then held on Tuesday. Buffalo is one of the constituent branches of the New York State Conference of NAACP Branches whose President is Hazel N. Dukes ( . The National office of the NAACP can be located at .

The purpose of the Buffalo Branch of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People shall be to improve the political, educational, social and economic status of minority groups; to eliminate racial prejudice; to keep the public aware of the adverse effects of racial discrimination; and to take lawful action to secure its elimination, consistent with the efforts of the national organization and in conformity with the articles of Incorporation of the Association, its Constitution and By-Laws and as directed by the National Board of Directors.
Membership Prerequisites: Any person who is in accordance with the principles and policies of the Association may become a member of this Association with the consent of the Board of Directors, by accepting the terms of the Constitution of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People and the Constitution and by-laws for Branches, and by paying annually in advance the requisite membership fees as prescribed by the National Board of Directors. Membership in the Branches shall include membership in the National Association.


The current officers of the Buffalo Branch NAACP are as follows:

  Frank B. Mesiah President
  LaDonna Clements First-Vice President
  Francesca Mesiah Second-Vice President
  Madeline O. Scott Secretary
  Wilbert B. Holder Treasurer
  Phyllis Taylor Todd Assistant Secretary


Buffalo Branch Executive Committee

  George K. Arthur George Iggers
  Reva Beta Mary R. Kapsiak
  Angela Blue Ernestine McDonald
  Claudia Brown Robert Mootry, Jr.
  Edith Brown James B. Thompson
  Shawn Fagan Joseph White
  Jeanette H. Garr Earlene M. Williams
    Roosevelt Wardlaw, PhD


The membership application may be printed, completed, and mailed to the NAACP, 395 E. Ferry Street, Buffalo, New York 14208

Hosting by Apollo III Communications, one of the world's first ISP's.